SJ410 clutch kit needed

Starts at the flywheel, ends at the hubs, any problems along them lines, ask your questions here.
martinspindler
Got muddy boots
Got muddy boots

SJ410 clutch kit needed

Post by martinspindler » Wed Aug 19, 2009 7:36 pm

Hi guys just joined and hope you can help.
I have a Yellow ScampGT4x4 which was the first prototype using a Suzuki SJ chassis instead of mini mechanicals, there is a picture of it in the back of the book - How to Modify Suzuki 4x4 for Serious Off-Road Action by John Richardson. I have built two Scamps based on minis in the past and have owned a 410 Santana which a friend of mine still uses. But I wanted both and when it came up for sale a few years ago I bought it.
I have been working abroad for the last 12 months and before I went I put the Scamp in the garage knowing that it needed a new clutch release bearing. Now that I am back in the uk I dragged the Scamp out of the garage and removed the gearbox and dismantled the clutch. It would appear that I have a very early Japanese 410 engine and gearbox - 1983, the release bearing has a spring on either side to attach it to the forks, I believe there are 3 types of clutch available for this early gearbox, I am loathe to order a clutch kit without checking that it is the right one. The later clutch for vehicles 85 on is readily available but I am sure I need the early one - can you help?

carnut
Can I have a tow
Can I have a tow

Re: SJ410 clutch kit needed

Post by carnut » Wed Aug 19, 2009 11:47 pm

most motor factors,, (the ones that supply parts to garages) not halfords,, keep parts books that give sizes, and diagrams of clutch kits etc. best bet is to call in and speak to these guys.
andy.

ScottieJ
The Boss
The Boss

Post by ScottieJ » Thu Aug 20, 2009 10:27 am

welcome to the site matey you got any pics to put up then?

Thats a shame ive got a later model clutch kit with only 500-1000 miles on it spare!