Drivetrain pre stripdown checks - advice appreciated

Got an vehicle build underway? post up pictures and tell us all how its going!

Builds threads only please.
Toodlepip
Got muddy boots
Got muddy boots

Drivetrain pre stripdown checks - advice appreciated

Post by Toodlepip » Sat Sep 12, 2020 1:33 pm

After a few months of other things getting in the way, I'm finally getting around to stripping down my sj410 pre restoration. It's driveable, though only for short distances on private land as it's not roadworthy, so I'm limited as to what checks I can do. I'd like mainly to check out the transfer box, differentials, suspension play, etc. Basically everything connected to the chassis. What I'm asking is, is there anything in particular I should be listening for? Can I set it up on blocks to check out 2wd and 4wd is working ok or will I damage components? I'm new to 4wd ownership so any and all advice gratefully received. Thanks.

timwilks13
SCUK Website Padawan
SCUK Website Padawan

Re: Drivetrain pre stripdown checks - advice appreciated

Post by timwilks13 » Sun Sep 13, 2020 2:49 pm

Drive train should be relatively sound free, except for squeaks from the spring and shock bushes. You can check the 4WD by jacking one front and one rear wheel, put it in 4WD and gear box in neutral, if you spin one the other should spin also.

Depending when oils were last changed no harm in draining t-box and diffs and putting fresh fluid in. Always remove filler plug before drain plug!! Might be a good idea to pull off all 3 propshafts and check condition of the UJ's, can't tell if they're any good when still fitted to the vehicle.

Then give all the spring bushes a good visual check, if they're old the rubber can perish and crack. Probably a lot more you can check but thats where I would start.
1986 SJ410 - Furry dice, new window winder.

10 kinds of people in this world, those who understand binary and those who dont.