ADD-A-LEAF

Post your questions about your suspension and steering problems here!
Eltoon
Got muddy boots
Got muddy boots

ADD-A-LEAF

Post by Eltoon » Wed May 11, 2016 4:36 pm

My leaf springs are pretty tired and the ride is harsh so thinking about replacement at some point. Is it worth buying these add-a-leaf springs from Llama as a cheaper option? Has anyone tried them and does adding them count as a modification? Anyone know? Cheers

http://www.llama4x4.com/page6.htm

Phillips321
Got muddy boots
Got muddy boots

Re: ADD-A-LEAF

Post by Phillips321 » Wed May 11, 2016 4:44 pm

I've literally just added them on my SJ410. My front springs were flat!

I'm not a mechanic (as you can probably tell by my posts on here!) but i managed to do it.

At the same time I also replaced my shocks (used Astra Mk2 Rears on the front and LandRover Series 3 SWB Rears on my rear. Lift is really good and i'm really pleased. You won't be disappointed!

Eltoon
Got muddy boots
Got muddy boots

Post by Eltoon » Wed May 11, 2016 5:29 pm

Cheers, that's good to know - mine are looking a little flat too! Did you re-use the same U bolts? I'm assuming I won't need to change the shocks, or that original shocks will still fit?

Phillips321
Got muddy boots
Got muddy boots

Post by Phillips321 » Thu May 12, 2016 8:53 am

Well some say you can get away with the original shocks but really they are too short. That's why i upgraded mine. It was cheap, rear shocks were £20 for the pair and fronts were £45 the pair.

I managed to use the same U-bolts, however with one of them it was pretty bent and twisted which made me which i had ordered replacements. If i was doing it again what i would do is order the u-bolts, and then send them back if i don't use them.

Phillips321
Got muddy boots
Got muddy boots

Post by Phillips321 » Thu May 12, 2016 8:55 am

Also get some g-clamps to hold the spring pack together. You only need one, but 3 made it much easier!

Eltoon
Got muddy boots
Got muddy boots