smoking sj

Engine not running right? see if we can help you!
slowjoe
Got muddy boots
Got muddy boots

smoking sj

Post by slowjoe » Tue Dec 13, 2011 8:14 pm

hi im new to this site so would like to say hi. iv just recently decoded to sell the old fiesat rs turbo and buy the mrs a bmw and me an old 1986 sj410 i got the old tank cheap so im not worried about having bought a lemon lol. the body work is great and we have sum test on the old girl so its great just wot i wanted when we get some snow. the problem i have is the bugger smokes like hell! and stinks like oil :yuk: but its grey smoke not blue? im no mechanic but no my bits and bobs and first thought is stem seals but just not sure as maybe head gasket???? iv run some stop smoke through her but that doesnt seem to have made a diffrence it does settle a little when warm but soom as you touch the gas fills the street lol.... i dont want it to be perfect as its only my winter tank but any help or cheap fixes would be great thanks. joe rotherham

dan_2k_uk
I spend far too much time on here

Re: smoking sj

Post by dan_2k_uk » Tue Dec 13, 2011 8:46 pm

Hi and :welcome:

The most likely cause is probably the valve stem seals.

Seems to happen to most of them at some point

Dan
Janspeed manifold, LWB Vit vented discs and calipers

Build thread -- Build photos -- HLA-Artwork
Coming soon: YJs, Trussed axles, Full float rear.

Christoff
Can I have a tow
Can I have a tow

Post by Christoff » Tue Dec 13, 2011 8:50 pm

Start with the basics mate. Compression test. If you think it's stem seals then easy job get head off, rebuild and back on with new head gasket

If the smoke is there pretty much all the time then more likely to be worn piston rings. I suppose it's possible that it would burn oil with a blown head gasket but more likely that you would notice other problems as a result of gasket failure.

slowjoe
Got muddy boots
Got muddy boots

Post by slowjoe » Tue Dec 13, 2011 9:12 pm